Having Initiated in USA about 9 years back, the competition SS12 is a Code-A-Thon and Make-A-Thon challenge organized by Project Possibility and local student organizations. It is hosted in partnership with IEEE and leading technology industry companies mainly considered in increasing awareness of issues in accessible computing and be educational and fun. At the moment the competition is spread across Europe and Asia continents as well. In this year SS12 Asia Competition will be held for the second time with the participation of 5 countries; India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal.

Organized by the IEEE Sri Lanka Section, SS12 Asia 2016-Sri Lanka Section Competition was held on 06th of August 2016 at Dialog Head Office Auditorium. It was a team based competition which was open for the university undergraduates in Sri Lanka. Confronted with a topical issue to enhance the quality of life through innovation, the competition was lined up under the theme of “Accessible Internet of Things (IoT): Making IoT accessible for differently abled community”. Under the belief of providing an equal platform for differently abled community as well, the competition was vividly beneficial for the society.

So far the selection criterion was based on challenge, innovation, usability, extendibility, documentation and presentation. The winners were announced under the judgment of Dr. Ajith Pasqual, Dr. Beshan Kulapala, Eng. Janaka Wimaladharma, Eng. Nalin Kumarasinghe and Mr. Kanchana Herath. Among 11 teams who participated for the semifinals, 5 teams were selected for the finale. The winners will be grabbed the opportunity to compete at the grand finale of SS12 Asia- Sri Lanka Section Competition which is to be held at India.

The winners are as follows:

The Winner: Team Iris from University of Moratuwa

Charith Dushantha Panangala

Kondarage Achintha Iroshan

Hareen Udayanath

Wishwa  Perera


First Runners Up: Team A from University of Peradeniya

Kasun Vimukthi Jayalath

Gayan Jayathilake

Chamara Yapa


Second Runners Up: Team Widercards from General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University

Viduranga Gunarathne

Sidath Gajanayaka

Pavithra Perera



The competition was sponsored by MilleniumIT (Platinum sponsor), the Media partner was Impulse Media and the Venue partner was eZ Cash.