The IEEE Electronic Design Competition, which is held annually in order to boost the interest about electronic design among engineering undergraduates in Sri Lanka, was held on 28th of October at four premises of the University of Moratuwa, University of Peradeniya, University of Ruhuna & Wayamba University of Sri Lanka.

The competition ran from 8.30 a.m. to 4.30 p.m. for a duration of 8 hours within which the competing teams were assigned a design task. More than 50 teams of undergraduates competed for the award. Dr. JMJW Jayasinghe was the Coordinator of the IEEE Electronic Design Competition 2017. The competitors were invigilated throughout the competition and judged by university academics and industry professionals.

Winners of the IEEE Electronic Design Competition 2017 are as follows.

First place: University of Moratuwa
Pawan Supul Samaratunga
Migara Pramod
Isara Subasana Fonseka

Second place: University of Peradeniya
E.M.U.N Ekanayake
G.W.K Prabhath

Third place: Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Tharanga Premathilake
Nipun Perera
Nalin Gunarathne

These winners will receive cash prizes along with certificates at the IEEE Sri Lanka Section Annual General Meeting. All the other participants will receive certificates of participation through their respective Student Branches.