IEEE Young Professionals Sri Lanka (Earlier GOLD)

IEEE Young Professionals is a vibrant community of engineers, scientists, and technical experts with member representation across the globe and throughout IEEE societies.

IEEE Graduates of the Last Decade (GOLD) was created in 1996 as a membership program to help students transition to young professionals within the larger IEEE community and recently it has changed to IEEE Young Professionals.

Executive positions

Chairman: Mr. Viraj Hewathanthri | [email protected]

Secretary: Mr. Peshan Sampath | [email protected]

Treasurer: Mr. Praneeth Peries | [email protected]

Vice Chairman: Mr. Samith Chathuranga | [email protected]

Chair-Elect: Mr. Nadarajah Dheynoshan | [email protected]

Link to Website

Facebook page


Women in Engineering – University Of Peradeniya

IEEE WIE SB AG UOP dedicates to inspire and empower young females to use their diverse talents, in achieving the technical eminence with the proper maintenance of work-life balance, and to innovate for the betterment of humanity. Under the guidance of Dr. Maheshi Dissanayake, Senior Lecturer of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University of Peradeniya our Student Branch organizes technical workshops, charity work, promotional activities and many other events to achieve the mission of IEEE WIE. We also encourage our members to connect with the IEEE WIE community and collaborate with the Sri Lanka Section, R10 and the worldwide WIE network to participate and contribute in many activities and programs organized.

Executive positions

Chairman: Deshika Dharmasena

Secretary: Wasundara Jayawardana

Treasurer: Dinali Dabarera

Vice President: Dilini Almeida

Facebook page

 Women in Engineering – University Of Moratuwa

IEEE WIE Student Affinity Group, UOM is the first ever WIE affinity group in Sri Lanka. Our aim is to inspire, engage, encourage and empower female undergraduates in Faculties of Engineering and Information Technology in UOM. A number of events to enhance networking and promote membership in WIE, advocate undergraduates in leadership roles and career advancement and mentor young women to pursue a career in Engineering are being organized every year. Our affinity group has a member base more than 75 and Miss Nadee Seneviratne, one of the Past Chair Person of IEEE WIE Affinity Group and who is currently working in IEEE R10 WIE Supporting Volunteer Committee. And also our immediate Past Chair Person Miss Sachinthana Pathirana is currently working as the Sectional Student Representative at IEEE Sri Lanka Section. Prof. (Mrs.) Dileeka Dias is the adviser of the WIE Student Affinity Group in UOM.

Executive positions

Chairman: Nipuni Ginige

Secretary: Sharadhi Gunathilake

Treasurer: Madeesha Fernando

Vice President: Nipuni Bhagya

Facebook page

 Women in Engineering – University Of Colombo School of Computing

IEEE Women in Engineering (WIE) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to promoting women engineers and scientists and inspiring girls around the world to follow their academic interests to a career in engineering. As well as IEEE student branch WIE student branch has been formed with the participation and contribution of all the girls in four batches of University of Colombo School of Computing and it has been organizing many activities to enhance professional development of the students and to facilitate the recruitment and retention of women in technical disciplines globally.

Executive positions

Chairman: Dilanka Wagachchi

Secretary: Dilini Madhubhashini

Treasurer: Gothami Abayawickrama

Vice President: ChanduniWickremasinghe

Facebook page

 Women in Engineering – Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology

IEEE WIE student branch of Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology was started to inspire and motivate women in engineering while increasing the executive leadership and empowerment of the girls who are about the start their life with Engineering.

Executive positions

Chairman: Welikonthegei Piyumi Anuruddhika Wajirasena

Secretary: Ekanayake Wijeratne Bandara Wasala Mudiyanselage Saumya Harshani Kumarihamy

Treasurer: Haupage Oshani sadhana perera

Vice President: Dilini Buddhima Weerakoon


WIE Affinity group of IEEE Student Branch of IIT is a new addition to the list from March 2015 onwards. We, WIE of IIT IEEE Student Branch have organized an inter­university hackathon in November 2015, together with our Student Branch. We also have engaged in fundraising activities, workshops etc. in order to facilitate academic interests of young WIE in our institute. Looking forward to continue this AG in years to come, inspiring many more young WIE.

Executive positions

Chairman: Nihla Akram Nihla

Secretary: Shakoora Farouk Fathima

Treasurer: Divya Premanatha Divya

Share this page